11th November 2015

Yeovil Town exited the Somerset Premier Cup at the second round stage after losing by four goals to one at Toolstation Premier side Odd Down.

Goals from Adnan Hiroli, Matt Guy, Kye Simpson and Rich Dawley saw the Combe Hay side progress at the expense of a young Glovers side that fought hard but came up short against a team of men.

The home side are enjoying a good league season having lost only once in fourteen games and took that confidence into the early exchanges. And they took the lead on eight minutes when Adnan Hiroli was given time and space to turn and volley past Kingsley Latham in the Glovers goal.

Odd Down pushed hard for number two and both Cory Simpson and Chris Marty shot wide from good positions. Yeovil replied with Jack Ball’s spectacular volley just dipping over the crossbar and as they grew into the game, Philip Strobel’s exciting 40 yard run ended in Down’s former League keeper Stuart Jones saving down low.

The Glovers ended the half on a high with Ball shooting at the keeper from the edge of the box and Paul Akinuli firing just wide but they were dealt a double blow early in the second period. From a corner two minutes after the break, Matt Guy rose to head home and within three minutes it was 3-0 through an own goal although striker Kye Simpson will claim the strike.

Yeovil had made three substitutions in rapid succession introducing Max Melanson, Ben Griffiths and Jack Lethaby-Rice with Dion Macfoy-Johnson, Taylor Scarff and Samyan Ismail coming off. And it was the first of those, Melanson, who gave Yeovil hope of a comeback when he drilled a low free kick into the corner of the net just after the hour mark.

Late on, Odd Down had another scare when a defender sliced a clearance onto his own crossbar but when the next goal came, it was in the Yeovil net as Rich Dawley’s spectacular strike flew into the net. Lethaby-Rice came close in stoppage time with a shot that Jones did well to keep out but it is Odd Down who move into the quarter finals.


1. Kingsley Latham

2. Taylor Scarff

3. Tiago Marques Sa

4. Arthur Warren

5. Jayden Corbridge (c)

6. Sam Boulton

7. Samyan Ismail

8. Jack Ball

9. Paul Akinuli

10. Dion Macfoy-Johnson

11. Philip Strobel


12. Ben Griffiths (for Scarff 49 min)

13. Jack Lethaby-Rice (for Ismail 51 min)

14. Prince Iwyen-Nwabudike (unused)

15. Joe Daniels (unused)

16. Max Melanson (for Macfoy-Johnson 47 min)


James Needle and Ollie Bassett with first team.