20th April 2015

The Football League has announced the full list of winners for The Football League Awards 2015, the 10th annual awards ceremony that celebrates on and off pitch excellence across The League’s 72 clubs.

The winners were announced at the gala ceremony at The Brewery, London, on Sunday evening in front of over 600 guests from clubs, sponsors and the football industry.


The 2015 ceremony, which marked the 10th year of the awards, were streamed live on The Football League’s official YouTube channel and website, while highlights will be shown on Sky Sports 1 on Monday evening at 6:15pm and 9:15pm.

A global online audience watched on as Middlesbrough’s Patrick Bamford won the Sky Bet Championship Player of the Year Award. The Sky Bet League 1 award went to Preston North End’s Joe Garner and Bury’s Danny Mayor received the Sky Bet League 2 accolade.  All three of the divisional Player of the Year winners were decided by a vote among club managers.

Milton Keynes Dons midfielder Dele Alli was named The Football Leauge’s Young Player of the Year, following in the footsteps of stars like Gareth Bale, Fabian Delph and Wilfried Zaha who have won the award over the last decade.


The prestigious Contribution to League Football Award was presented to the late Major Frank Buckley, who had a renowned career manager and also a player in The Football League, and notably served his country with distinction as part of the Footballers’ Battalions in World War 1.

Former Sunderland, Crystal Palace and Leicester City striker Kevin Phillips picked up the Sir Tom Finney Award, presented to a recently retired player that has had an outstanding career in the Football League.


This year, to mark the awards’ 10th anniversary, The Football League also announced its Football Manager Team of the Decade.  The team recognised the 11 outstanding players and one manager from the last 10 years who have excelled in the competitions of The Football League, and includes names like Rickie Lambert, Jordan Rhodes, Gareth Bale and Eddie Howe.

For the first time in the events history, all Football League clubs were recognised at the ceremony through the Tokio Marine Kiln Club Hero Award.


Shaun Harvey, Chief Executive of The Football League, said: "The 10th Football League Awards has given us the opportunity to reward outstanding performance, both on and off the pitch, during what has been a memorable Football League season.

 "Each of our winners thoroughly deserves this recognition and, once again, we’ve seen exceptional levels of talent, dedication and achievement across all our nominees."


The full list of Award winners is shown below:


Contribution to League Football Award

Major Frank Buckley


Sky Bet Championship Player of the Year

Patrick Bamford (Middlesbrough)


Sky Bet League 1 Player of the Year

Joe Garner (Preston North End)


Sky Bet League 2 Player of the Year

Danny Mayor (Bury)


Football League Young Player of the Year

Dele Alli (MK Dons)


Johnstone’s Paint Community Club of the Year

Derby County (Derby County Community Trust)


Regional Winners

South: Brighton & Hove Albion (Albion in the Community)

Yorkshire & North East: Doncaster Rovers (Club Doncaster Community Sports & Education Foundation)

East: Norwich City (Norwich City Community Sports Foundation)

North West: Blackburn Rovers (Blackburn Rovers Community Trust)


Mitre Goal of the Year Award


Yann Kermorgant (AFC Bournemouth)

Rohan Ince (Brighton & Hove Albion)

Craig Westcarr (Portsmouth)

Joe Garner (Preston North End)

Andy Mangan (Shrewsbury Town)


PFA Player in the Community Award

Danny Shittu (Millwall)


The Sir Tom Finney Award

Kevin Phillips


Capital One Supporter of the Year

Sarah Watts (Brighton & Hove Albion)

Divisional winners

League 1: Tracey Cole (Crawley Town)

League 2: Greg Hill (Exeter City)


LFE Apprentice of the Year for the Championship

Lewis Cook (Leeds United)


LFE Apprentice of the Year for League 1

George Cooper (Crewe Alexandra)


LFE Apprentice of the Year for League 2

Conor Chaplin (Portsmouth)


Football League Family Club of the Year

Colchester United

Divisional winners

Championship: Brighton & Hove Albion

League 2: Stevenage


Tokio Marine Kiln Club Hero Award

Brian Murphy (Birmingham City)

Football Manager Team of the Decade

Goalkeeper: Kasper Schmeichel

Right Back: Angel Rangel

Left Back: Gareth Bale

Centre Back: Wes Morgan

Centre Back: Ashley Williams

Midfield: Wes Hoolahan

Midfield: Adam Lallana

Midfield: Peter Whittingham

Forward: Glenn Murray

Forward: Rickie Lambert

Forward: Jordan Rhodes

Manager: Eddie Howe

To find out more about The Football League Awards, and for a full list of Award categories, please visit www.FLAwards.com or search #FLAwards on Twitter.