9th April 2016

The Football League have announced the shortlist for the Capital One Supporter of the Year award, with the winner to be revealed at the Football League Awards 2016 next weekend.


The shortlist was revealed on BBC 5 Live’s 606 show and is made up of one fan from each division, with each being the Capital One Supporter of the Year in their division.  Supporters representing Bristol City, Colchester United and Yeovil Town are included and will be invited to attend the gala ceremony in Manchester alongside some of the stars of the Football League season.


The three fans on the shortlist are:


Oskar Pycroft (Bristol City) – Championship

Eight year-old Oskar never misses a Bristol City home match and his own home is awash with club merchandise and memorabilia.  He has cerebral palsy but his devotion and passion for his club, along with the dedication he has shown in his long battle to walk so he could lead out his team, has made him an inspiration to his fellow fans and anyone fighting against a severe illness or disease.  Not only has he become a totemic figure at Ashton Gate, his passion as a fan has resonated with others to the extent he even inspired fans of rivals Bristol Rovers to back his cause.


Tommy Leggett (Colchester United) – League 1

Tommy is a Colchester United fan whose support for the club has helped him to make a difference.  His son Alfie was diagnosed with a rare condition which will leave him blind and most-likely deaf as he grows older.  In order to raise money for him and having to start at 4:30am, Tommy recently ran nearly 40 miles from his sides’ Weston Community Home Stadium to their Essex rivals, Southend United’s, Roots Hall Stadium, arriving in time for the derby.  He raised over £3,500 for Alfie’s treatment, uniting two sets of supporters who for every other day of the year will be ardent rivals.


Pat Custard (Yeovil Town) – League 2

Pat is a woman who would do anything for anyone and her selflessness has made her a massive part of Yeovil Town Football Club. Pat volunteers at the club to help improve matchdays for other supports and people visiting Huish Park – anything from arranging tickets for fans who cannot get to the ticket office to painting the ground during pre-season.  Pat also follows Yeovil up and down the country, never missing a match and even insisting on paying for her season ticket despite her dedication to helping out at the club preventing her from catching the whole of games.


The Capital One Supporter of the Year is one of 10 categories that will see trophies presented at the Football League Awards 2016.  Shortlists for categories recognising club’s community, youth development and family focussed activity have already been announced, as well as the shortlist for the best goal of 2015.  Shortlists for the Sky Bet Players of the Year and Football League Young Player of the Year will be revealed next week.


For the first time this year the Awards will also recognise the best 11 players and manager from across the 72 clubs, with the ‘Football Manager Team of the Season’ to be announced on the night.


The Football League Awards has a new venue this season with it being held in Manchester for the first time.  Live updates as the winners are announced will be provided via The Football League’s Twitter page, @football_league.


To find out more about The Football League Awards, and for a full list of Award categories, visit www.FLAwards.com or search #FLAwards.


Previous Supporter of the Year Winners

2015: Sarah Watts (Brighton & Hove Albion)

2014: Phil Beeton (Leeds United)

2013: Neil Le Milliere (Exeter City)

2012: Sue Pollard (Plymouth Argyle)

2011: Kevin Monks (Coventry City)

2010: Herbert Taylor (Southampton)

2009: Warner Duff (Ipswich Town)

2008: Paul Samrah (Brighton & Hove Albion)

2007: Stan McGowan (Bury)

2006: Jeff Hall (Chesterfield)