6th February 2014

Goals from each of the 72 Football League clubs are in contention to be named the Mitre Goal of the Year at the Football League Awards 2014.

Sky Sports’ Soccer AM will this weekend reveal which 10 goals from the list will now be put forward for a fan vote. The selection of the 10 best goals scored by League clubs form across Football League competitions in 2013 will be shown by Max Rushden and Helen Chamberlain on the Sky Sports programme on Saturday morning, along with details of how fans can vote for their favourite.

Each of the 72 Football League clubs nominated their best goal from 2013 as their own ‘Mitre Goal of the Year’ for the competition.  The 10 best strikes have been selected to make the cut, with the fan vote then helping to decide the final shortlist of 5 goals. Alongside the vote, fans will be given a chance to win tickets to next month’s star studded event.

Fans can see all 72 goals in contention for the Mitre Goal of the Year and make their own mind up as to which ones should make the Top 10 by watching them all on The Football League’s YouTube channel:

Championship club goals: http://youtu.be/XCSTq8x33JM

League 1 club goals: http://youtu.be/rdyWdy4FDoQ

League 2 club goals: http://youtu.be/J4okOyDPUV0

Previous winners of the Mitre Goal of the Year award are Simon Cox (Nottingham Forest – 2012), Peter Whittingham (Cardiff City – 2011), Dean Furman (Oldham Athletic – 2010), Nicky Maynard (Bristol City – 2009), Sylvain Ebanks-Blake (Wolverhampton Wanderers – 2008), Jermaine Beckford (Leeds United – 2007), Joe Ledley (Cardiff City – 2006) and Stefan Oakes (Notts County – 2005).

The overall winner of the best goal from 2013 will be decided at the Football League Awards which take place at The Brewery in London on Sunday 16th March.

For more about The Football League Awards visit www.FLAwards.com or search for #FLAwards on Twitter.