21st October 2013

Yeovil Town Football Club are delighted to announce that “10”, the superb new limited edition book commemorating our decade in the Football League, will be published on Sunday, November 10, the day of the Championship clash with Wigan Athletic.

Written by Yeovil Town author Martin McConachie and designed by matchday magazine editor Jonathan Hopper, “10” is the only official record of the seasons from 2003-04 to 2012-13. It includes five big chapters and encompasses all of the success and the heartache of those campaigns.

Priced at £29.99, packed with 200 pages and signed by first team manager Gary Johnson, the book provides a unique record of what has been a meteoric rise for Yeovil Town. Starting life in the Football League in August 2003, few could have imagined quite how the past ten years would have turned out. Two fantastic promotions, two trips to Wembley through the play-offs, many big cup ties, the sad loss of Adam Stansfield and many other former Glovers plus the special one-off occasions have really made Yeovil Town the club to follow.

The book also features the official Yeovil Town Football Club ‘Team of the Decade’. Chosen by you, the supporters, via an online poll, the players making up the YTFC Ultimate XI will be revealed for the first time in the book, making a great discussion point.

There are a total of 500 limited edition copies of the book available, but they are selling fast, so to reserve your copy of this wonderful memento, please email book@ytfc.net and your name will be put on the list.


Here’s what you can expect in each of the chapters:


Chapter One – The Seasons

The past decade at Huish Park has seen some of the club’s most historic seasons. Beginning with the near miss of our Football League debut campaign, the chapter then takes us from the Division Three title to last season’s dramatic promotion

to the Championship, via the 2006-07 League One play-off final. It includes a detailed statistical record of each season and superb images too.


Chapter Two – The Managers

Four different managers have sat in the hot seat during the past ten years and the book features exclusive interviews with all four of them. Gary Johnson, Steve Thompson, Russell Slade and Terry Skiverton talk openly and frankly about their respective tenures with the club in their fascinating stories of life in the dugout, including revelations of life behind the scenes at Huish Park.


Chapter Three – The Club

The club itself has a chapter devoted to it and focuses on three areas. Firstly, the people who deliver the off field experience at the club, past and present; next, the personal stories behind the three companies who sponsored the first team kit and thirdly, a special commemorative tribute to those who sadly didn’t complete the journey all the way to the Championship.


Chapter Four – The Matches

With such a successful ten seasons, it was very challenging to select ten matches that meant more than any other. Some were easy while others were not so easy but we’ve chosen ten of the best. They include reports, stunning pictures and some have interviews with those at the heart of the action in a memorable recap of the seasons gone by.


Chapter Five – The Players

The final chapter features three players who, between them, bridge the whole decade. Darren Way was there at the start and the finish but in hugely different roles;  player and assistant manager Nathan Jones spent seven years at Huish Park and Ed Upson brings us up to date. All three provide engaging,  and at times, extremely emotional recounts of their Glovers memories. The chapter is then completed with a comprehensive ‘Team of the Decade’ feature.