28th March 2013
Paddy Madden has bee voted in the top 10 players from League 1 after the Football League Awards in London last Sunday.
The Top 10 players in each division of the npower Football League, as chosen by the respective division’s managers, have been announced following Sunday’s Football League Awards, which saw Matej Vydra (npower Championship), Matt Ritchie (npower League 1) and Tom Pope (npower League 2) crowned The Football League’s Players of the Year. 
In the lead-up to the event, managers from the npower Championship, npower League 1 and npower League 2 were asked to name the best five players in their division (excluding those at their own club). The Football League can now reveal which players have caught their eye this season.
The competitiveness of npower League 1 this season is reflected in eight clubs being represented in the Top 10.  Notts County’s stylish midfielder Alan Judge is in second, ahead of Coventry City’s Leon Clarke.  Luke Murphy of Johnstone’s Paint Trophy finalists Crewe Alexandra is fourth, while talented young Sheffield United defender Harry Maguire’s continued development sees him make the top five.  It’s been a real breakthrough season for Walsall’s former trainee striker Will Grigg who is named in sixth place, one ahead of the second AFC Bournemouth player on the list, Harry Arter.  Paddy Madden’s spectacular season in front of goal for Yeovil Town sees him take eighth place, with Coventry City’s Carl Baker and Brentford’s Clayton Donaldson completing the Top 10.
The final tables are as follows:
npower League 1:
1 Matt Ritchie         AFC Bournemouth
2 Alan Judge                 Notts County
3 Leon Clarke         Coventry City
4 Luke Murphy         Crewe Alexandra
5 Harry Maguire         Sheffield United
6 Will Grigg                 Walsall
7 Harry Arter         AFC Bournemouth
8 Paddy Madden         Yeovil Town
9 Carl Baker                 Coventry City
10 Clayton Donaldson Brentford